A CONVERSATION WITH CAROLYN DRAKE

THURSDAY, APRIL 22ND, 2021

8PM Doha Time/1PM EST/10AM PST

 

Join artist Carolyn Drake in conversation with Tasweer’s Artistic Director Charlotte Cotton as they unpack Drake’s book-making process, focused on her recent book - Knit Club - published with TBW Books. Following three critically acclaimed self-released books - Two Rivers (2013), Wild Pigeon (2014), and Internat (2017) - Knit Club is the first book Drake has made in collaboration with a publisher. Drake is the recipient of a Guggenheim fellowship, among many other awards, and became a member of Magnum Photos in 2019.

 

ABOUT CAROLYN DRAKE’S KNIT CLUB:

A foreboding meditation in the vein of Southern Gothic literature, Drake’s most recent body of work emerged through her collaboration with an enigmatic group of women loosely calling themselves “Knit Club.” The nature of the club is ambiguous. It is a cross between a gang and a group of friends bound by secrets only they share.The book follows a narrative structure loosely borrowed from William Faulkner’s novel - As I Lay Dying - that is to say, not one omniscient narrator but many disparate stream-of-consciousness voices. We sense the authorship of the photographs to be collaborative, the result of creative play between Drake and the club in which she found herself embedded. 

.

Carolyn Drake, Knit Club book